The Serial Short Story Returns

Posted: 15/08/2014 in Uncategorized

With all the discussion that has been going on of late about the benefits of e-books vs traditionally printed books, and vice versa, I thought I’d try something a little different.

I’ve just finished work on a new short crime story, The Victim. It’s not related to anything I’ve written in the past, it has a new cast of characters, and I think you’re going to like it.

Yes, yes, I hear what you’re saying: “A new short story is great, but how is that different?”

Well, it’s different because of the way it’s going to be published. You see, The Victim isn’t going to be available as an e-book (at least not now anyway), nor is it going to be a printed book. I’m not going to ask you to buy it, or even download it. Instead I’m going to post it and give it away for free on Twitter. Yes, Twitter, that social media platform where every post, or tweet as they’re known, is limited to just 140 characters (that’s 140 including blank spaces mind you).

The Victim - Facebook Banner Image

Social media is a funny thing. Some people love it, while others hate it, but most of us make at least some use of it. As an author I find Twitter to be a great tool for connecting with a large number of people in a very short amount of time, but there are many other ways it can be used. Publishing short stories, or Short Twitter Tales, as I’ve decided to call mine is just one. It is however something different, and I think it could be fun. So, are you up for it?

Starting on Sunday, 24 August 2014, I’m going to post four tweets a day, one at 6:00am, one at 2:00pm, one at 6:00pm, and another at 10:00pm until the story is finished. (Times are AEST)

if you’re not already on Twitter I’d encourage you to sign up. At least until after you’ve read my story, as it is after all the only way you’re going to see it.

If you are new to Twitter you’ll need to know how to find my story amongst the avalanche of tweets that are out there. One way will be to find my profile and type my username @lssaville (yes there are two s’s in it) into the Twitter search bar, and then follow me. That way all my tweets will come up on your Twitter feed. If you’re like me however, you’re end up wanting to follow a whole bunch of other people, and when you do that your feed can get very busy. This is where the Hashtag # comes in. Each of my story tweets will be tagged with the hashtag #storybit. It is a hashtag that currently doesn’t get much use on Twitter, so type this into the twitter search and it should take you straight to the story. It really is quite simple, and even if you join in midway through the story you can use #storybit to find it and catch up, or after it’s all done, you will be able to read the story through from the start.

I hope you enjoy, The Victim.

Liam Saville
Sydney, Australia

Comments
  1. This is such a great idea Liam – I hope you have a lot of fun with it. Look forward to beginning the “book” on the 24th!

  2. Y Williams says:

    I’m hooked …. waiting for the next post!

Leave a Reply

